Chatalog Help Centre
Chatalog Help Centre
Search…
⌃K
Links

Messages

Chatalog Tutorials - Message, Private Note, Custom Field

Initiate conversations with users messaging you

Messages manages conversations from various messaging platforms, including WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram.
Image 1: Basic Conversation Interface
In the conversation list at the left, you can see all the conversations incoming from the connected messaging platform accounts. The conversation status is classified as Open, Assigned, and Closed. You can also select Show All to view all the conversations. Step 1, select a user to view the conversation between you and the contact.
Step 2, you can see the remaining response time in this conversation at the bottom left of the conversation. The policy of each messaging platform varies. Please find their difference as follows:
For Facebook and Instagram, a human agent is allowed to respond to a user’s message within 7 days, while messages sent through automation must be within 24 hour, which may contain promotional content. As for WhatsApp, when a customer first messaged you, you are allowed to respond to the customer within 24 hours. If the conversation has expired but you still wish to reach the customer, you need to send a template message to that customer to reopen a messaging window with our Broadcast feature.
Step 3, you can send messages or attachment in the input field. There is a toggle at the top left of the field, by default is sending the message directly as Reply. If you only want to remark this conversation for internal use, you may switch it as Private Note, so that the message is only visible to you but not the contact. Click Send to send out the message.
Personal information including Email and Phone can not be solicited from Instagram officially at the moment. The default information is not accurate and need to be recorded separately.

Managing contact information

Image 2: Contact Information Interface
You can view and update contact information on the pane at the right. Click on the edit button as step 4, you can update contact's display name. Since the contact may update his/her name on the social platform from time to time, you may follow step 5 to refresh user's social platform name. Step 6, click to Add a custom field or modify an existing custom field's value for the contact. Step 7, add or delete labels for the contact.

Update Contact Information

​
​

There is a few default information for a contact, where display can be edited. Click Save to apply changes.

Edit custom fields and label

​
​
You can set up information into custom fields for your contact. The left field is the field name. If you have already created a field in another contact, you can find out the created fields in the dropdown. The right field is the value of this data. For example, you can create a new field named as "order num" with value "23425124" to record a contact's order number.
If you only wish to segment your contacts, you may add a label for your contacts. Similarly, if you have created a label before, you can select it from the dropdown, otherwise you can name a new label. If you want to remove a label from a contact, simply click on "x" button of the existing labels to do so.

Manage conversation status

Conversation status includes Open, Assigned, and Closed. You can also select Show All to display all the conversations. Open means conversations that need a human agent, but yet to be assigned. There is no bot response in this conversation status. Assigned means the conversation is already assigned to an agent. Conversation with this status does not trigger bot response as well. Closed means the conversation does not need a human agent to handle. If you have set up flows before, conversation in this status will trigger bot response.
Closed is the default status at the moment. When you find that the bot can not satisfy customers' enquiries, you can intervene by changing the conversation status to pause bot reply and handle it manually.
​
Image 3: Edit Conversation Status
Step 8, view conversations of different statuses by switching tabs. You can switch to Open, Assigned, Closed or Show All to view all the conversations. You can also select the dropdown below to filter conversations by platforms or connected channels. By default it is All platforms. Step 9, click Select to change conversation status in bulk. For example, you may want to change a whole list of conversations from Closed to Assigned, you can go to Closed tab and click Select to select multiple conversations and change their status in one go. Step 10, when you have selected a conversation at the left, you can click on the button at the top right to change conversation status of the current contact.
Image 4: Dropdown of Changing Conversation Status
In the dropdown, you can assign the conversation to different team members in your account, or change it to Open or Closed. Click Cancel if no status change is needed.